A kingdom – A throne an eternal promise to King David

When your days are finished and you shall lie with your forefathers, then I will raise up your seed that shall proceed from your body after you, and I will establish his kingdom.
He shall build a house for My name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever.
(2 Sam 7:12-13 Hebr/Eng Bible, JPS 1917)

11. so shall be My word that emanates from My mouth; it shall not return to Me empty, unless it has done what I desire and has made prosperous the one to whom I sent it.
(Isaiah 55:11 Hebr/Eng Bible, JPS 1917)

10. And even from the days that I commanded judges over My people Israel; and I vanquished all your enemies. Moreover I tell you that the Lord will build you a house.
11. And it will come to pass when your days are finished to go with your forefathers, then I shall raise up your seed after you, who will be of your sons, and I shall establish his kingdom.
12. He will build Me a house, and I shall establish his throne forever.
13. I shall be to him as a father, and he will be to Me as a son, and I shall not remove My loving-kindness from him as I removed [it] from he who was before you.
14. And I shall station him in My house and in My kingdom forever, and his throne shall be established forever.
(1 Chronicles 17:10-14 Hebr/Eng Bible, JPS 1917)

There is a big difference between a temporary kingdom and the kingdom of David, that will remain for ever in the future.

23. And now, O Lord, the word that You have spoken concerning Your servant and concerning his house shall be realized forever, and do as You have spoken.
24. And may Your name be confirmed and magnified forever, saying: The Lord of Hosts, the God of Israel, is God to Israel, and the house of David Your servant shall be established before You.
(1 Chronicles 17:23-24 Hebr/Eng Bible, JPS 1917)

“… And your servant David shall be established before you.”
The promise to David was the throne promised by G-d to the tribe of David.

7. And David said to Solomon, “My son, as for me, it was in my heart to build a House in the name of the Lord my God.
8. But the word of the Lord was upon me, saying: ‘You have shed much blood, and you have waged great wars; you shall not build a House in My Name because you have shed much blood to the ground before Me.
9. Behold a son will be born to you; he will be a man of peace, and I shall give him peace from all his enemies around about, for Solomon will be his name, and I shall give peace and quiet to Israel in his days.
10. He shall build a House in My Name, and he shall be to Me as a son, and I to him as a Father, and I shall prepare the throne of his kingdom forever.’
11. Now, my son, may the Lord be with you, and you shall prosper, and you shall build the House of the Lord your God, as He spoke of you.
12. But may the Lord give you intelligence and understanding, and may He command you over Israel, and to keep the Law of the Lord your God.
13. Then you will prosper if you observe to perform the statutes and the judgments that the Lord
commanded Moses over Israel; be strong and of good courage; do not fear and be not dismayed.”
(1 Chronicles 22:7-13 Hebr/Eng Bible, JPS 1917)

David could not build it himself, because he had “shed much blood, and had made great wars” (v. 8). But the son of David, Solomon, was chosen to become a ruler of peace that would give Israel peace and security during his time. (V. 9). The “throne of David” was not a temporary kingdom, it would last forever! Verse 13 says that Solomon could only manage to maintain the Kingdom as long as he kept G-d’s commandments and statutes.

6. And He said to me, ‘Your son Solomon, he shall build My House and My Courts, for I have chosen him to me as a son, and I shall be to him as a father.
7. And I shall establish his kingdom for eternity, if he strengthens himself to perform My commandments and My ordinances as of this day.’
(1 Chronicles 28:6-7 Hebr/Eng Bible, JPS 1917)

Solomon’s temple is built. In verse 7 G-d says that He will secure Salomo’s kingdom for all time, if he continues to act according to G-s commandments and statutes, as he now does.
(Heb. Bible, Hebrew/English Bible, JPS 1917. Hebrew word / hachinu = prepared, complete).

17. As for you, if you walk before Me as your father David walked, and do according to all that I commanded you, and you keep My statutes and My ordinances.
18. I shall set up the throne of your kingdom as I decreed to your father David, saying: You shall never lack a man ruling in Israel.
19. But if you revert and forsake My statutes and My commandments, which I placed before you, and you go and worship strange gods and prostrate yourselves to them.
20. I shall uproot them from upon My land, which I gave them, and this House, which I have consecrated for My name I shall cast from before Me, and I shall make it a proverb and a byword among all peoples.
(2 Chronicles 7:17-20 Hebr/Eng Bible, JPS 1917)

If Solomon walked G-d’s ways as his father, David, did, and kept G-d’s commandments and statutes, then G-d would let his kingdom be (v. 17-18). Verses 19-20 contain a warning that if he turns away from G-d’s laws and begin to worship other gods, then G-d would uproot Solomon out of the land he gave Solomon. The conditions are that Solomon keeps the law.

24. As I live, says the Lord, though Jeconiah/Coniah the son of Jehoiakim, king of Judah, be a signet on My right hand, from there I will remove you.
25. And I will deliver you into the hand[s] of those who seek your life and into the hand[s] of those you fear and into the hand[s] of Nebuchadrezzar, king of Babylon, and into the hand[s] of the Chaldees.
26. And I will cast you and your mother who bore you, to another land where you were not born, and there you shall die.
27. But to the land to which they long to return there, there they shall not return.
28. Is this man, Coniah, a despised, shattered image, or a vessel in which there is no use? Why were he and his seed cast away, thrown to a land they know not?
29. O land, land, land, hearken to the word of the Lord.
30. So said the Lord: Inscribe this man childless, a man who will not prosper in his days, for no man of his seed shall prosper, sitting on the throne of David or ruling anymore in Judah.

(Jeremiah 22:24-30 Hebr/Eng Bible, JPS 1917)

Now there are several examples of kingdoms that are not comprised, for example Coniah/Jeconiah in Jeremiah 22 as evangelical Christians often see as a link between Jesus and king David. Jesus’ father, Joseph, was from Jeconiahs tribe and in verse 30, G-d says that he absolutely must not ascend the throne of David! To compare Jeconiahs throne of David and Solomon is wrong.
We get a circular reasoning here. It was through King Solomon as David’s throne was established, all other descendants to the throne can only become eligible to reign on the throne if they descended from Solomon.

© 2012 Jonathan Axelsson
אתר הבית של יונתן
Twitter @tzedaqyal

About Meadow of Tzedaqyal

“We are not human beings having a spiritual experience; we are spiritual beings having a human experience” (Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, 1881-1955)
This entry was posted in bible, judaism, religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

